SYW Q&A

I just discovered through a friend’s blog that Cee of Cee’s Photography provides weekly sets of questions in her “Share Your World” or “SYW” blog challenge. 

challenge-considered-meme4

challenge-accepted


What are you really glad you did yesterday?

I’m really glad that yesterday I took all the trash from my apartment out to the dumpster. No, I’m not joking around. I’m really glad. You see, I am very much like Sarah Cynthia Sylvia Stout. Do you know about her? She lives in a poem by Shel Silverstein:

SARAH CYNTHIA SYLVIA STOUT
WOULD NOT TAKE THE GARBAGE OUT
Sarah Cynthia Sylvia Stout
Would not take the garbage out!
She’d scour the pots and scrape the pans,
Candy the yams and spice the hams,
And though her daddy would scream and shout,
She simply would not take the garbage out.
And so it piled up to the ceilings:
Coffee grounds, potato peelings,
Brown bananas, rotten peas,
Chunks of sour cottage cheese.
It filled the can, it covered the floor,
It cracked the window and blocked the door
With bacon rinds and chicken bones,
Drippy ends of ice cream cones,
Prune pits, peach pits, orange peel,
Gloppy glumps of cold oatmeal,
Pizza crusts and withered greens,
Soggy beans and tangerines,
Crusts of black burned buttered toast,
Gristly bits of beefy roasts. . .
The garbage rolled on down the hall,
It raised the roof, it broke the wall. . .
Greasy napkins, cookie crumbs,
Globs of gooey bubble gum,
Cellophane from green baloney,
Rubbery blubbery macaroni,
Peanut butter, caked and dry,
Curdled milk and crusts of pie,
Moldy melons, dried-up mustard,
Eggshells mixed with lemon custard,
Cold french fried and rancid meat,
Yellow lumps of Cream of Wheat.
At last the garbage reached so high
That it finally touched the sky.
And all the neighbors moved away,
And none of her friends would come to play.
And finally Sarah Cynthia Stout said,
“OK, I’ll take the garbage out!”
But then, of course, it was too late. . .
The garbage reached across the state,
From New York to the Golden Gate.
And there, in the garbage she did hate,
Poor Sarah met an awful fate,
That I cannot now relate
Because the hour is much too late.
But children, remember Sarah Stout
And always take the garbage out!

Shel Silverstein, 1974

Would you prefer a one floor house or multiple levels?

I am an apartment dweller. I honestly cannot imagine owning a house, or even renting one really… Of course, it’s always fun to daydream. I’ll try. Let me see… An unfinished attic with candles and a manual typewriter on a rickety old rolltop desk, yeah I’d like that; below that a proper studio (like the whole floor one room, maybe with a piano which I had to pay a fortune for someone to get up in there); below that a penthouse style floor just for the master suite; below that a floor of guest rooms; below that the ground floor with the kitchen and dining room and parlor and whatnot; then the basement rec room; then the sub-basement winecellar; and below that even, a raw cavern with an underground river running through it.

Yes, I’ll take the multiple levels please.

How does that song from Fiddler go? One long staircase just going up and one even longer coming down, and one that’s going nowhere just for show! 

house

Have you done something you truly want to do today?

I have. Last night, I made a mad blogpost which linked up to 9 or 10 blog hops, so I’m pretty much committed to visiting at least a few of the blogs in each of those linkups (Not that it’s a chore – I love doing it! – It’s just a matter of finding the time…), BUT first I’ve been needing to catch up on doing the rounds of some writing prompt linkups I’m participating in with my other blog.

And that’s what I’ve done today that I truly wanted to do: bounce around to the blogs of a bunch of poets and flash fiction writers, enjoy their prompted works, leave comments here and there… so now I’m about caught up and can turn to the dozen hops I’ve gotten myself into with wee ditty here last night and today. Including this one!

For me, finding a new hop – especially one with a stimulating challenge or prompt – is like finding the plastic egg with real money in it on Easter.

What plans did you have as a teenager that didn’t happen? Are you happy it didn’t work out that way?

Oh, I planned to be a public school teacher or even a college professor. But yeah, I’m mostly happy that it never came to pass, because public school teachers are beset by administrators out of touch with the actualities of teaching, are disrespected more and more it seems by the students, are forced to ‘teach to the test’ for all the standardized metrics that the kids are forced through these days…

calvin

…And professors? Well, they have to deal with departmental politics. If there’s one thing I learned in grad school, it’s that I can’t stand departmental politics. So I reckon either way, had I realized my youthful plans, I would have wound up pretty much miserable.

Similarly, I feel I have dodged some bullets in romance. Most of the women I have loved would probably have made me miserable had I gone ahead and hitched myself to their wagons, so to speak. Heh. Does that sound awful?

Bonus question:  What are you grateful for from last week, and what are you looking forward to in the week coming up? 

Gooood question. I think maintaining an attitude of gratitude is crucial.

what-good-is-gratitude

(Robert Emmons)

I am very grateful to have received free samples last week of some very expensive medication. I am also grateful that work went smoothly last week. I can only hope it goes as swimmingly in the week to come.

And to what am I looking forward? Um. Getting some food up in this place for one thing. My cupboards are BARE. I just scarfed my last can of soup for goodness sake. Last time I let this happen, I wound up eating all the cans of green beans and carrots that I had in the back of the pantry. So even that is not an option at this point. I’ve got got got to go grocery shopping. Really looking forward to that.

Also anticipating a visit with my newish friend Jay, who is a former marine and once guarded the president. He has some great stories.

Plus just continued good fun blogging a lot. Looking forward to that.


Wellp, Cee, many thanks for the questions. I enjoyed just letting the words flood out in answering them. Hope to link up with you again in weeks to come. And any other Share-Your-Worlders who may have hopped over here to visit, thanks for coming. I may not get to your posts the soonest, but the good lord willing and the creek don’t rise, I will be around eventually to check out your blogs. Warm regards to all. See you ’round the playground!

041514-sywbanner

[click image to go to the hop]

 

 

 

5 comments

Leave a Reply

