Lots of Happy-Making Stuff :: #WeeklySmile

weeklysmile1

Over at Trent’s World (The Blog), Trent invites us to ruminate on what made us smile this week. I like his graphic for the linkup.

“My, what a GIANT smile you have!”
“The better to win you with…”

I’ve never participated in the #WeeklySmile before, so it’s a nice opportunity to meet some new bloggers. Thanks, Trent!

I’ve read some decent articles this week. Just the first two words of that sentence (I’ve read – full stop) are something for me to smile about. I just resumed blogging a few weeks back, and was delighted to find myself really reading again. A few autobiographical books by Augusten Burroughs which I read in 2014 – around the time that I was writing my own memoir, Way Out – and some poetry here and there, largely Bukowski – comprised the sum total of my reading in the last several years. I could write, but I couldn’t read. Something to do with attention span and the passivity of just taking in entertainment. I hadn’t been able to sit through most movies either. But something about the interactivity of reading blog posts, and their mostly manageable portion-size, has had me devouring words lately like I did as a kid and on up through school to my BA in English Language and Letters, and my half-MA in Lit. I used to be a voracious reader. I’m feeling some of that hunger coming back. *smile*

munger

But back to this week’s articles. I recently discovered Flipboard, and there’s really a lot there…. a seemingly endless supply of re-write-ups of articles from other sources, mostly. All sorted into various groupings of ‘interests’. A great deal of the articles are put together in the format of a numbered list: 5 ways to do this, 10 surprising facts about that. I’m sure we’ve all come across plenty of online pieces of writing in this format. Well, here are seven smile-making factoids I’ve noted as I came across them in articles on Flipboard.

  1.  “umop apisdn” is “upside down” spelled upside down
  2. The probability of you drinking a glass of water that contains a molecule of water that also passed through a DINOSAUR is almost 100%.
  3. A “butt load” is an actual unit of measurement, equivalent to 126 gallons.
  4. There is enough iron in your body to make a 3-inch nail.
  5. “Will Will Smith smith?” and “Will Smith will smith” are sentences that make complete sense.
  6. It rains diamonds on Saturn and Jupiter.
  7. Humans share 50% of their DNA with bananas.

What else this week? Well, I had to smile when I came across a series of great, witty posts by Michelle Cox entitled collectively, “How to Get Your Book Published in 7000 Easy Steps – A Practical Guide.” That woman’s writing voice is truly delightful. Highly recommended.

I smiled, too, when I happened upon the Facebook community page Surrealismo. Check out this photo I found publicly posted there:

sexleaf

Does your mind do with that picture what my mind does with that picture? *grin*

I’m not too proud to repeat myself, so I’ll go ahead and mention the big-smile-news I’ve gotten in the last few days about my book The Boon. I found a way to make it free through Amazon for five days, and I’m very happy to report that over 100 people have taken me up on the gift thus far. Huzzah! What’s more, I’ve entered into a contract to have it made into an audiobook. Having that project in the works gives me a real ear-to-ear for sure.

Another happy thing that has happened to me just recently, and which I’ve also mentioned in a few recent posts, is that I’ve gotten back on an effective regimen of medication for my mental illness after having been off-track a while. If you’re interested at all in that sort of human interest story, you might be interested in reading this.

To wrap up this post before it demands too much of your time, I’ll mention just two more smiley things. First, WordPress has just today given me a little badge for a milestone:

follows

And second, my Twitter account is going gangbusters. I’m making scads of new and valuable contacts, and expect before too long to crack 5k.

followers

Yep. That’s a wrap. Thanks again, Trent. Hope to hook up with you some more in weeks to come!


P.S. woot just found another cool linkup:

suz2

[click on image to come to the party!]

4 comments

Leave a Reply

