Desire and Urgency and the Blogging Game

I like games. I mean card games, board games, & etc…

Thinking about why I like games, I have come to the conclusion that the real appeal for me is this: games generate desire.

Yes, the reason I like games is that they make me want.

I want to want.

And the desire that games inspire is generally for something attainable… because, you know, it is not wise to desire the impossible. At least that’s what Chilon of Sparta, one of the Seven Sages of Greece, said.

Why do I crave desire? Well, it’s something I tend to lack.

I have a sort of learned helplessness, I feel… a coping mechanism which prevents me from striving to better myself or my situation. This manifests as a general contentment with the way things are – even when they are not that great.

My learned helplessness (a weakness, perhaps) is bolstered by a deep sense of general gratitude (more of a strength, I think). I am sincerely grateful for basic things like food, clothing, shelter… and as long as I have these, I don’t perceive the need to want much of anything else.

Besides desire, another reason I like games is the urgency which arises while playing.

Once you know what you want (to win!) and what you need in order to get it, then getting what you need becomes a very pressing concern indeed. Urgent!

Blogging is a bit of a game, too, isn’t it? I think so. Blogging generates the desire for likes and follows and comments… also the desire to find entertaining, informative, and inspiring content on others’ blogs… and sometimes this desire feels pretty urgent.

Yes, sometimes blogging gets me urgently wanting to connect with others… which is of course precisely what I am after right now, as I link this ramble up with The Daily Post.

I’ve heard it’s a good idea to end a blog post with questions to readers, in order to provoke meaningful comments. So hey, um… are you very desirous? Or more the content type? What sorts of things do you tend to want? Of all your desires, which is the most urgent?

Thanks for reading!

ps. Urgent – linking up also with…

 new-anythinggoes-badge

and…

Reflectionsfromme

and…

#MondayMusings

and…

Pink Pear Bear

and…

Keep Calm and Carry On Linking Sunday
60 comments

  1. I’m definitely the wanting kind. I always have this list of unfulfilled wishes that I keep adding to and deleting from. Most of it isn’t really ‘urgent’. You’re right about blogging though. That need to connect and hear from people does get urgent when I don’t blog for a while. #mg

    Liked by 1 person

    • I keep replying to this comment, and it won’t seem to take. Odd. And ironic, considering that what I keep trying to discuss your assertion that the urgency of the desire for connection is positively correlated with the length of time you go without. Maybe now, after three days, it will finally let me say how true that seems to me!

      Like

  2. I think I’m sort of like you and sometimes that really good but then at times it doesn’t work out well. I’m facing the latter now. I have spent the last five years being content in a job which I knew would give me nothing. And now I think I’ll have to suffer because of that. So, though being content is good, it is not really at all times. But when it comes to blogging, I’m like you. I want more and more 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    • Yes, given a temperament of contentment, it can be very easy to settle for too little. I wish you good fortune and release from suffering!

      Like

  3. I really enjoyed reading your post and how you translated The Daily Post word. I would probably say that I’m desirous filled with a sense of urgency. I’m a doer so I usually go after what I want rather than sit and wait for it to come to me 😉 #GlobalBlogging

    Like

  4. Is that what I’m doing wrong – the uh not asking the questions at the end of the post thingy …
    interesting post, this. Came over from Impromptu Promptlings to have a look as her response to your questions piqued my curiosity 🙂 So the question thingy worked !

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Oh my word… Blogging is definitely a game! And a competitive one as well! It can be fun and frustrating at the same time. Thanks for linking up to #globalblogging, hope to see you again next week!! #globalblogging

    Like

  6. I’m The wanting type too. I can’t help it. Apparently I’m a bit like a bull in a China shop though which gets me into trouble. Ummm….I should properly do something about that. Thanks so much for linking up at #KCACOLS. Hope you come back again next Sunday.

    Like

    • Haha well as long as you know what you want. I’m of the opinion that it’s when you want without knowing what you want that you’re really in trouble. Thanks for stopping by!

      Like

  7. Interesting post! I do find that I treat blogging as a bit of a game, striving for the next target. Thanks so much for linking up at #KCACOLS. Hope you come back again next Sunday

    Like

    • Thanks! Yeah, I did Wordless Wednesday on my other blog this week and I swear it was like playing pinball – I was bouncing around so fast from linky to linky haha…

      Like

  8. I don’t think being grateful for what you have is a bad thing – I think its a good step towards being truly happy. However, I also don’t think trying to better yourself is a bad thing either 🙂
    Thanks for linking up to #AnythingGoes 🙂
    Debbie

    Like

  9. Blogging is most definitely a game. I have been taking it slow and steady for a while now and only recently upped my game and take it to the next level. OH I think I may have a problem, the competitiveness is coming out now. Although only against myself, I want to be the best I can be and watch other bloggers do the same too.
    Thanks so much for linking up at #KCACOLS. Hope you come back again next Sunday

    Like

  10. I’m generally quite content I think, although I certainly have wants and desires too! I’m not a particularly competitive person though, although I do feel more ambitious now than I did when I was younger! x #KCACOLS

    Like

    • Ambition… that’s a good word to throw into the conversation. Ambition is wanting to better oneself and one’s position, right? Seems like it also implies some risk; an ambitious move can be kind of risky… Do you take risks to get ahead, Madeline? haha. Thanks for commenting!

      Like

      • Hmm, I’m not sure I take risks, but I’ve definitely pushed myself out of my comfort zone in recent years, which has felt pretty scary! x

        Liked by 1 person

  11. I had never thought of blogging as a game, but then I see where you make that connection and it is true there is a desire for shares and likes and getting comments (I LOVE comments). I can be impatient when I want things, I am a little addicted to shopping and find if I go to the shops I have too many desires that my bank account does not measure up to lol #mg Thanks for linking up and hope to see you next week xx

    Like

    • Yeah, it is a game and it isn’t. I mean there is no real conclusion where you either win or lose… it’s more just a manner of speaking about something, like you might say ‘the selling game’ or ‘the rap game’ or something… impatience is interesting. And I hear you about material desires for which your pocket is not quite deep enough. Today, I want a Lotus roadster! lol

      Like

  12. oh, and the learned helplessness! everything is contrived to have us believe the answer comes to us from somewhere other than the self. even entertainment. gimmie gimmie help me i’m entitled. Very glad to see you noticing this. You are a powerful person and have everything you need to make your life wonderful.

    Like

  13. I used to want things. It seems the older I get, the less I want. I wish I wanted something, anything, bad enough to really pursue it. Nothing seems worth the hassle, though, and I know that ultimately it won’t make me “happy.” Whatever ‘happy’ is. Games, like you said, are a quick Band-Aid. Excellent point, you made. I need to think about this more…

    Liked by 1 person

    • Salient questions, all. I find it to disappear as soon as i notice it, too often, as if it is a shy angel. As to what I let in, well it more lets itself in. Malaise? Ennui? Melancholy? Disgruntlement maybe, mostly with myself. I’m mean to me, mentally. Not a good friend to myself. TMI? haha. Thanks for the thought-provoking comment!

      Like

Leave a Reply

