Other Parts

When I’m writing

Especially when I’m writing well

Well enough at least to be lost

In the writing

That’s when certain parts of me take a powder

The parts of me who like to harp on my shortcomings

That’s when other parts of me seem to awaken

And let me know that I’m worthwhile

Who watches me write? you ask…

Why, I do, of course

But it’s the “I’ who’s my friend

The me who likes me

Who watches, when I write

[inspired by Witness, this week’s Discover Challenge]

Leave a Reply

